A New Jersey community mourned the loss of a 35-year-old teacher who was involved in a hit-and-run pedestrian accident. The personal injury the victim suffered ultimately proved fatal when she died 11 days after the accident. The incident has led to an arrest and criminal charges against the man believed to have struck her as she was crossing a street.
Police say the 39-year-old man did not remain at the scene when the woman, who was crossing a road with friends, was struck by the man's vehicle. The man was later apprehended, however, and has since been charged with aggravated manslaughter, death by intoxicated operation of a motor vehicle and other criminal offenses. Officials say the date of the tragic accident was the man's birthday, and they believe he had been out drinking alcohol to celebrate, just before the collision occurred.
Situations like this often lead to litigation in civil court. An immediate family member of a fatally injured accident victim is able to file a wrongful death claim when evidence exists to show that another person's negligence or reckless driving behavior was responsible for a loved one's death. Plaintiffs in such cases often cite the fact that criminal charges were filed after an accident to help substantiate their claims.
When a fatal personal injury occurs in a New Jersey pedestrian accident, it often devastates families and entire communities. While there is no replacement for the loss of a human life, state law allows wrongful death claims as a means to seek restitution. Families often encounter serious financial distress following such incidents. A successfully litigated case can provide compensation for damages, which can be used to help pay for funeral expenses and other accident-related costs.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment