New Jersey roadways, like most others in the nation, are dangerous places. Highways and byways are often traffic-laden, high-speed messes where travelers may truly feel as though it's every man for himself out there. It's no longer a matter of "if" accidents will occur, but merely when and where. Those that fall victim to one will likely have questions regarding personal injury claims.
A key factor to seeking full recovery for one's losses hinges on the at-fault driver doing what he or she is supposed to do in the near aftermath of a collision. It is the at-fault driver who is obligated to verbally report the incident to the proper local authorities, especially if another person has suffered injury because of the fault. A report should also be filed any time estimated property damage is $500 or more.
In addition to a verbal report, a written report must be documented within 10 days following a car accident that injures someone or causes the amount of property damage listed earlier. Most collision-related personal injury claims in New Jersey are settled out of court. This allows accident victims to negotiate the terms of their own cases, including the amount of compensation (in accordance with state laws) they receive.
Most personal injury attorneys are skilled negotiators. Anyone who has survived injuries in a New Jersey car accident caused by a negligent driver may reach out for legal support when preparing to negotiate a settlement. If litigation winds up being necessary, it is a great asset to act alongside a personal injury attorney in court.